1. Who I am…

My name is Heather Shalita.

I am an English major with a minor in Secondary Education in Pennsylvania. 

I am passionate.

I am articulate.

I am excited (and exciting).

I am creative.

I am always learning.

I am curious.

I am open.

I am interested (as well as interesting, if I do say so myself).

I am a traveler.

I am a writer. 
I have been a writer since I knew how to string words together on a page. I’ve always loved to write stories, both about myself and of the fantastical. I was asked on the first day of class: “If you could write a memoir about your life, what would it be titled?” Though I still don’t quite know the answer, the title does not matter. It’s the content, the style, the voice used that matter more. 

Everyone is a writer. It’s just a matter of honing those skills to draw out one’s ability. It is then our job, as teachers, mentors, and role models to help students find their greatest abilities. Through the course “Writing to Improve Literacy” I hope to learn some of the best ways to help myself and my students find their inner-writers.

Leave a Reply

